Posted by: alexbrompton | July 19, 2011

Meet The New Guy

Well here I am. My name is Alex. I am 33 years old married with 3 children (I know I don’t look old enough) . I have lived in Newark for 25 years and counting. This is going to be a very short introductory blog, but you will be seeing and hearing much more from me in the coming weeks and months.

I love living in Newark and think that it has a lot to offer. However I also realise that there are some things that need to be developed and changed, and that is why I am so excited about my new role as Community Animator. As I am sitting and writing this post I have a whole host of possibilities whirling inside my small but tightly packed brain and am raring to go.

My passion for our town is to see relationships and families restored, streets cleaned, youth engaged, the elderly to feel safe, for people from all ethnic backgrounds to feel included and for people to achieve their potential. That sounds like a huge goal and it is, but I make no apologies for thinking big. I am really excited about developing my skill set to enable others to develop theirs, I have a feeling that the learning curve could well be a steep one for all concerned but what a great way to learn.

So what’s first? I hear you say. Okay let me answer that for you. Listening, listening and more listening. I believe in the grass-roots solution that is Listening Matters and think that it holds the keys to many amazing projects and solutions. I love the fact that the answer to most of the problems in our community if tackled properly can be solved by the community themselves. It is my job get as many people talking to and listening to each other as possible. The team here in Newark have already made a great start and it is always easier to work from a great foundation. (Thanks peeps)

So there you have it. My short intro blog. Some dreams, some aspirations and a little bit of method.

Bring it On.

Responses

  1. Dear Alex,
    A warm welcome to the Regenerate team in Newark.
    You are joining a great bunch of people. Using the Listening Matters process will put you at the cutting edge of development work in the UK.
    In September the Regenerate training team will start to train 5000 organisers in the process across England.
    So work hard. I quess you will be getting lots of visits.
    Best wishes and good luck. Looking forward to meeting you soon.
    Stephen Kearney

  2. Dear Alex,
    A warm welcome to the Regenerate team in Newark.
    You are joining a great bunch of people. Using the Listening Matters process will put you at the cutting edge of development work in the UK.
    In September the Regenerate training team will start to train 5000 organisers in the process across England.
    So work hard. I quess you will be getting lots of visits.
    Best wishes and good luck. Looking forward to meeting you soon.
    Stephen Kearney

  3. Welcome and I hope you achieve more than even you hope for.

    • Thank you Ray. Much appreciated.

      All the best.

      Alex

  4. Well done Alex and good luck! If you need me you know where to find me! Jo

  5. Thanks Jo. I am sure I will.

    See you soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

